Orlando, Fla. — The King of Wake — the world’s elite pro wakeboarding series — announced today where and when the top pro riders will compete for the ultimate wakeboarding crown, with the release of its 2010 schedule. In 2010, the top pros will compete in a series of eight events throughout the United States for one ultimate season-long points chase to see who rules the wake.

The eight events included in the 2010 series are the Wake Games, the WWA National Championships, the WWA World Championships and all five stops on the Pro Wakeboard Tour.

The King of Wake opens and ends its 2010 series at the Orlando Watersports Complex in Orlando, Fla. The series kicks off with the Wake Games on April 29-May 2 and wraps up the season on Aug. 19-22 with the WWA World Championships.

The Pro Wakeboard Tour features five stops, beginning on May 22 in Acworth, Ga. The Pro Tour then continues on to Fort Worth, Tex., on June 12; Elizabethtown, Ky., on June 19; Colorado Springs, Colo., on July 24; and concludes in Knoxville, Tenn. on Aug. 14, where a Pro Tour winner will be crowned.

The WWA National Championships, held in the greater Reno area of Sparks, Nev., on July 14-18, will mark the midpoint of the season, and the Chase for the Crown will begin following this event.

The Chase limits the King of Wake crown to the top 10 riders in the standings midway through the season. Only the 10 riders involved in the Chase will have their point totals adjusted and have the remaining three stops for topping each other in the standings for the King of Wake crown. The overall winner will be crowned at the 2010 Wake Awards.

Canada’s Aaron Rathy is the current King of Wake champion and will look to defend his title in 2010 against the sport’s top riders, including Pro Tour titlist and 2009 Rookie of the Year Harley Clifford; current National champion Adam Errington; and defending Wake Games winner Rusty Malinoski.

2010 King of Wake Schedule
DATES                    CITY                                    EVENT                                                 VENUE
April 29-May 2       Orlando, Fla.                         Wake Games                                Orlando Watersports Complex
May 22                    Acworth, Ga.                        Pro Wakeboard Tour: Stop #1              Dallas Landing Park
June 12                     Fort Worth, Tex.                  Pro Wakeboard Tour: Stop #2              Texas MasterCraft
June 19                     Elizabethtown, Ky.              Pro Wakeboard Tour: Stop #3              Freeman Lake Park
July 14-18                Sparks/Reno, Nev.                WWA National Championships           Sparks Marina
July 24                     Colorado Springs, Colo.       Pro Wakeboard Tour: Stop #4              Memorial Park
Aug. 14                     Knoxville, Tenn.                   Pro Wakeboard Tour: Stop #5              Volunteer Landing
Aug. 19-22               Orlando, Fla.                      WWA World Championships       Orlando Watersports Complex

To catch all the high-flying, rail-sliding wakeboard action of the King of Wake series, tune in to Fuel TV, the King of Wake’s official television partner. WakeBoarding, published by Bonnier Corp., is the official magazine of the King of Wake. Read about all things wakeboarding, with expert coverage of professional instruction, gear, boats and news.

Rockstar is the world’s most powerful energy drink. Enhanced with the potent herbal blend of guarana, ginkgo, ginseng and milk thistle, Rockstar is formulated to provide an incredible energy boost for those who lead active and exhausting lifestyles — from athletes to rock stars. Rockstar Energy Drink is available in 11 amazing flavors: Original, Sugar Free, Zero Carb, Juiced Mango Orange Passion Fruit, Juiced Guava, Juiced Pomegranate, Tropical Punched, Punched Citrus, Roasted Mocha, Roasted Latte and Roasted Light Vanilla. Rockstar Energy Shots are available in Wild Berry and Tropical Punch flavors. Rockstar Energy Drink is available at convenience and grocery retail outlets across the United States, Canada, Australia, Austria, Belgium, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Japan, Germany, Switzerland, Finland, Spain, the Netherlands, the United Arab Emirates and throughout the United Kingdom.