Riders came from around the world to Texas Ski Ranch June 5, 2010 for the kick off of not only the Monster Energy WWA Wake Park Triple Crown presented by Alliance Wakeboard Magazine, but also the first stop of the WWA World Series, as well. The riders in attendance represented countries including Germany, Netherlands, Great Britain, Australia, Israel and Hungary, as well as riders from across the USA.

The format was something new for cable wakeboard events, and great for the spectators. Each rider got two runs, plus a Monster Energy bonus trick. The catch was each run was only one pass. And if you fell, it was over.

Things started off with seeding heats for the Open division, then quickly heated up with the pro divisions for women, wakeskate and men. As expected the pro men’s division did not disappoint and was a battle of the cable wizards: Tom Fooshee, Nick Davies, Lior Sofer and Keith Lidberg were all standouts. Two 1080’s were thrown (by Davies and Matty Hasler) in the very first round.

Under the hot Texas sun, the pro fields were then cut down with a semi final round. In wakeskate, Clint Tompkins advanced into Sunday’s final in first with a score of 77. For the women Maxine Sapulette of the Netherlands rode into the finals on top with a score of 80. The pro men’s semis stretched until the sun began to dip behind the Texas Ski Ranch lodge and was highlighted by tricks such as Dominik Guhrs’ backside 9 and of course local boy Tom Fooshee’s flawless pass. In the end, Fooshee’s score of 89.25 would top nearest competitor’s score of 86.25 by 3 full points.

The Monster Energy WWA Wake Park Triple Crown is brought to you by Alliance Wakeboard Magazine, 1080, Ronix, Liquid Force, Slingshot and Pro-Tec. The action continues tomorrow, June 6, at TSR with the final rounds for pro and open divisions beginning at 10 am!


Pro Wakeskate – Heat 1 Pro Wakeskate – Heat 2
Andy Kolb - 91.7 Clint Tompkins - 71
Matt Davidson - 66 Taylor Dell - 53
Aaron Reed - 64.25 Janik Von Lerchenfeld - 51.25
Josh Zentmyer - 21.25 Bret Little - 50.25
Pro Men – Heat 1 Pro Men – Heat 2
Marc Shuster - 71.25 Nick Davies - 86.25
Matty Hasler - 68.05 Lior Sofer - 77.6
James Young - 67.50 Matty Denitis - 74.50
Sebastian Szolath - 63.30 Donald Shelbrick - 26.70
Pro Men – Heat 3 Pro Men – Heat 4
Dominik Guehrs - 86 Keith Lidberg - 84
Josh Rice - 74.75 Freddie Von Osten - 77.25
Andrew Adkison - 54.50 Austin Hair - 64.00
Cody Johnson - 51.75 Sam Scoggins - 48.50
Ryan Sanders - Earl Ball - 40.50
Pro Men – Heat 5
Tom Fooshee - 89.25
Steffen Vollert - 80
Kyle Cameron - 66.75
Nico Von Lerchenfeld - 65.50
Bryan Perez - 25.50