New PWT Format Makes a Splash: Clifford, Galotifore take Wins in Acworth

Acworth, Ga. – The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour debuted its new format today at Dallas Landing Park in Acworth in front of one of its largest crowds to date. Fans poured in to see the Pro Men and Jr. Pro Men compete in their respective finals, and to witness the excitement of the Pro Tour’s new Main Event.

Between the live music, a stacked six-man pro final, plenty of ROCKSTAR girls, a big-air challenge and a double up contest; fans were treated to an epic wake party, full of action and entertainment.

“We definitely left an impression in Acworth with this new format,” said the current King of Wake, Aaron Rathy. “The fans and riders were all really pumped on how things went down and to see new elements of the sport added to the Pro Tour.”

The Pro Men kicked off the final day of action with their quarterfinal round, where 20 riders hit the water in five heats of four. The quarterfinals cut the competition in half, only advancing the top two riders from each heat onto the semifinals.

The semifinals quickly narrowed down the field of riders to setup the six-man final, but not without an upset. Austin Hair of Tega Cay, SC beat out four-time X Games gold medalist Danny Harf and former Pro Tour champ Shaun Murray to advance to his first Pro Tour finals appearance.

The finals pinned Hair, Adam Errington, Rusty Malinoski, Phillip Soven, JD Webb and Harley Clifford against each other in a six-man final. In such a stacked final heat, riders couldn’t hold anything back in order to win the first Pro Tour stop of the 2010 season. Aussie Phenom Harley Clifford, the current defending Pro Tour titlist, took that notion to the next level during his final run, landing a handle pass KGB 540 – the first ever in a contest.

Clifford’s impressive run was more than enough to take first place in the Pro Men’s finals and take the lead in the Pro Tour standings. Malinoski and Soven rounded out the Pro Men’s podium, respectively.

“I’m stoked,” said Clifford. “Sticking the KGB 5 and winning the first Pro Tour stop in the same day is just unreal.”

Following the Pro Men’s finals, the Pro Tour went right into the Indmar Double Up contest, where the “Bone-Crusher” Rusty Malinoski was declared the obvious winner after sticking his Toeside 1080.

Chad Sharpe, who is known for his bag of tricks off the kicker, won the Rockstar Energy Drink Big- Air Challenge with his massive Indy Glide. Sharpe and Malinoski each took home a $1,000 for winning their respective events.

In the Jr. Pro Men’s division, riders hit the water in two heats of five for their semifinal round. With only the top two riders from each heat advancing, the field of riders was narrowed down to Freddie Wayne, Kyle Evans, Nick Galotifore and Daniel Powers for the four-man final.

All four rippers threw down some series runs, but Galotifore’s Heel 7 off the double up helped the Orlando native rise above the competition to win his first Pro Tour stop. Powers and Evans rounded out the Jr. Pro Men’s podium, respectively.

“It’s crazy, I can’t believe I took first place,” said Galotifore. “I just laid down my run, stuck my Heel 7, and it paid off. I’m stoked!”

With finals wrapped up in Acworth, the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour will now head to Fort Worth, Tex., on June 10-12. Additional venues for the 2010 season include Elizabethtown, Ky., Colorado Springs, Colo. and Knoxville, Tenn.

To catch all the high-flying, rail-sliding, water-sports action of the Acworth Pro Tour stop on television, tune in to FUEL TV on July 20 at 8 p.m. EST.

The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour is organized by World Sports & Marketing of Orlando, Fla., and has the support of the following sponsors: MasterCraft, Rockstar Energy Drink, Overton’s, Indmar, Peavey, Mona Vie, Billabong, Hyperlite, CWB, Ronix, Liquid Force, Byerly, Oakley, Sayiwon’t, Epiphone, WakeBoarding magazine, FUEL TV and

About MasterCraft
MasterCraft is the exclusive tow boat for the Pro Wakeboard Tour, as it has been since the tour’s wakeboarding events began in 1992. Indmar Marine engines will provide the power for MasterCraft’s X Series line of competition tow boats.

ROCKSTAR is the world’s most powerful energy drink. Enhanced with the potent herbal blend of Guarana, Ginkgo, Ginseng and Milk Thistle, ROCKSTAR is formulated to provide an incredible energy boost for those who lead active and exhausting lifestyles – from athletes to rock stars. ROCKSTAR ENERGY DRINK is available in thirteen amazing flavors: Original, Sugar Free, Zero Carb, Juiced Mango Orange Passion Fruit, Juiced Guava, Juiced Pomegranate, Tropical Punched, Punched Citrus, Roasted Mocha, Roasted Latte, Roasted Light Vanilla, Cola, and Recovery. ROCKSTAR ENERGY SHOTS are available in Wild Berry and Tropical Punch flavors. ROCKSTAR ENERGY DRINK is available at convenience and grocery retail outlets across the United States, Canada, Australia, Austria, Belgium, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Japan, Germany, Switzerland, Finland, Spain, The Netherlands, the United Arab Emirates, and throughout the United Kingdom.

FUEL TV is the action sports lifestyle network for skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, BMX, motocross, and wakeboarding. Through its original and commissioned series and specials, short-form content, films, and prestigious event coverage, the channel features action sports athletes, emerging musicians, celebrities, and breaking news. FUEL TV was launched July 1, 2003 and is seen in more than 30 million U.S. homes. FUEL TV has networks in Australia (FUEL TV Australia) and Portugal (FUEL TV Portugal) and its content is viewed in more than 50 countries around the world.

Saturday, May 22 – Final PWT Results:

Pro Men – Finals: Heat #1
1. Harley Clifford          93.33
2. Rusty Malinoski        88.33
3. Phillip Soven              78.33
4. JD Webb                     73.33
5. Austin Hair                 65.00
6. Adam Errington         50.00

Jr. Pro Men – Finals: Heat #1
1. Nick Galotifore         92.50
2. Daniel Powers            86.25
3. Kyle Evans                 81.75
4. Freddie Wayne          79.50

Pro Men – Semifinals: Heat #1
1. Rusty Malinoski       83.33
2. Phillip Soven              80.00
3. Adam Errington        70.00
4. Danny Burnstein       60.00
5. Jim LaRiche                 58.33

Pro Men – Semifinals: Heat #2
1. Harley Clifford          75.00
2. JD Webb                     60.00
3. Austin Hair                48.33
4. Shaun Murray            33.33
5. Danny Harf                 28.33

Jr. Pro Men – Semifinals: Heat #1
1. Nick Galotifore         93.00
2. Daniel Powers           92.25
3. Ryleigh Pfitzner          78.50
4. John Jeffries               70.25
5. Pierce Homsey           66.00

Jr. Pro Men – Semifinals: Heat #2
1. Kyle Evans                  92.25
2. Freddie Wayne          83.50
3. Raphael Derome         79.50
4. Steel Lafferty              79.25
5. Josh Twelker              52.00

Pro Men – Quarterfinals: Heat #1
1. Danny Harf                 70.83
2. Jim LaRiche              70.00
3. Josh Palma                  50.00
4. Kyle Rattray               28.33

Pro Men – Quarterfinals: Heat #2
1. Rusty Malinoski       81.67
2. Adam Errington        76.67
3. Danny Thollander     71.76
4. Nick Jones                  50.00

Pro Men – Quarterfinals: Heat #3
1. Austin Hair                76.67
2. JD Webb                     66.67
3. Erik Ruck                     48.33
4. Andrew Adkison       33.33

Pro Men – Quarterfinals: Heat #4
1. Phillip Soven              76.67
2. Danny Burnstein      55.00
3. Chad Sharpe               46.67
4. Shawn Watson          38.33

Pro Men – Quarterfinals: Heat #5
1. Harley Clifford          85.00
2. Shaun Murray           73.33
3. Aaron Rathy               70.00
4. Phillip Aslinger          59.33