Knoxville, Tenn. – The top pro wakeboarders in the world hit the waters of Volunteer Landing today for the final rounds of action at MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour stop in Knoxville, Tenn.
First off the dock this morning, were the Pro Men’s division for their 20-man quarterfinal. Riders competed in five heats of four, with only the top two riders in each heat advancing onto the semifinals.
The theme of today’s semifinals was old school meets new school, as the two stacked heats ranged from young guns Harley Clifford and Jimmy LaRiche to elite veterans Chad Sharpe and Danny Harf.
The ten semifinalists battled it out on the water for one of four spots in the finals, with Andrew Adkison, Danny Harf, rookie Harley Clifford and top-seed Aaron Rathy advancing onto the last round of the contest.
All four finalists threw down some impressive runs, but Canadian ripper Aaron Rathy stood out from the competition to post a 97-point run, almost 12-points more than his next closet competitor. Harley Clifford and Danny Harf rounded out the podium, respectively.
Today’s win marks Rathy’s second consecutive Pro Tour stop victory of the 2009 season.
Also in the Pro Men’s division, England’s Nick Davies took home the ROCKSTAR Best Trick Award today for his massive Heelside 900 off of the U.S. Air Force kicker. The Award is a $1,000 cash prize.
In the Jr. Pro Men’s division, ten amateur rippers battled it out on the water in today’s semifinals for one of four spots in the final round of the Knoxville contest. Daniel Powers, Mitch Langfield, Jarrod Askew and top-seed Bob Soven faced off in the four-man final with Soven beating out Langfield by a single point to claim his third consecutive Tour stop win of the season. Langfield and Powers rounded out the podium, respectively.

Following Knoxville, the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour will head to Elizabethtown, Ky., July 18 & 19, for its fourth stop of the 2009 season. Addition venues for the 2009 Pro Tour include Fort Worth, Tex., Pleasant Prairie, Wis. and Sparks/Reno, Nev.
The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour is organized by World Sports & Marketing of Orlando, Fla. The Pro Tour has the support of the following sponsors: MasterCraft, Rockstar Energy Drink, Mona Vie, the U.S. Air Force, Indmar, Billabong, Hyperlite, CWB, Ronix, Liquid Force, Gator Boards, Oakley, Ride the Wake, FUEL TV and
MasterCraft is the exclusive towboat for the Pro Wakeboard Tour, as it has been since the tour’s wakeboarding events began in 1992. Indmar Marine engines will provide the power for MasterCraft’s X Series line of competition tow boats.
ROCKSTAR is the world's most powerful energy drink. Enhanced with the potent herbal blend of Guarana, Ginkgo, Ginseng and Milk Thistle, ROCKSTAR is formulated to provide an incredible energy boost for those who lead active and exhausting lifestyles – from athletes to rock stars.ROCKSTAR ENERGY DRINK is available in eleven amazing flavors: Original, Sugar Free, Zero Carb, Juiced Mango Orange Passion Fruit, Juiced Guava, Juiced Pomegranate, Tropical Punched, Punched Citrus, Roasted Mocha, Roasted Latte, and Roasted Light Vanilla. ROCKSTAR ENERGY SHOTS are available in Wild Berry and Tropical Punch flavors.ROCKSTAR ENERGY DRINK is available at convenience and grocery retail outlets across the United States, Canada, Australia, Austria, Belgium, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Japan, Germany, Switzerland, Finland, Spain, The Netherlands, the United Arab Emirates, and throughout the United Kingdom.
Media Partners
To catch all the high-flying, rail-sliding, water-sports action of the King of Wake series, tune in to FUEL TV – the official television partner of the King of Wake. WakeBoarding, published by Bonnier Corp., is the official magazine of the King of Wake series. Read about all things wakeboarding, with expert coverage of professional instruction, gear, boats and news.
King of Wake
Viewed as the world’s elite pro wakeboarding circuit, the King of Wake series has attracted the sport’s top athletes from throughout the globe. With more than $300,000 in prize money over the eight-event season, athletes compete during the course of the year to be named the “King of Wake” – an award based on points accumulated at each stop of the series. Events include the Wake Games, the WWA Wakeboard National Championships, the WWA Wakeboard World Championships and all five stops on the Pro Wakeboard Tour. The King of Wake is organized by World Sports & Marketing – the leading wake events producer since 1988.
Sunday, June 28 – PWT Knoxville Final Results:
Pro Men Final – Heat #1
1. Aaron Rathy                  CAN    97.00
2. Harley Clifford                AUS    85.25
3. Danny Harf                     USA    83.00
4. Andrew Adkison           USA    74.75
Jr. Pro Men Final – Heat #1
1. Bob Soven                       USA    92.75
2. Mitch Langfield             AUS    91.75
3. Daniel Powers                USA    80.00
4. Jarrod Askew                 AUS    76.50
Pro Men Semifinal – Heat #1
1. Harley Clifford              AUS    90.25
2. Andrew Adkison           USA    89.00
3. Phillip Soven                  USA    81.75
4. Rusty Malinoski            CAN    79.00
5. Troy Mackey                  AUS    60.00
Pro Men Semifinal – Heat #2
1. Danny Harf                    USA    98.50
2. Aaron Rathy                  CAN    83.50
3. Jimmy LaRiche               USA    79.75
4. Chad Sharpe                   CAN    75.50
5. Bryan Hutton                 USA    62.75
Jr. Pro Men Semifinal – Heat #1
1. Mitch Langfield            AUS    95.75
2. Jarrod Askew                AUS    84.75
3. Phillip Aslinger              USA    82.25
4. Michael Dowdy             USA    69.00
5. Nick Galotifore               USA    68.25
Jr. Pro Men Semifinal – Heat #2
1. Bob Soven                       USA    96.00
2. Daniel Powers               USA    85.50
3. Steel Lafferty                  USA    83.00
4. Kyle Evans                     USA    69.75
5. Steven Cahail                 USA    65.75
Pro Men Quarterfinal – Heat #1
1. Danny Harf                    USA    91.75
2. Rusty Malinoski           CAN    87.00
3. Corey Bradley                USA    85.50
4. Adam Errington             SCT     60.00
Pro Men Quarterfinal – Heat #2
1. Phillip Soven                 USA    97.25
2. Troy Mackey                 AUS    87.25
3. Trevor Hansen               USA    83.50
4. Austin Hair                     USA    72.00
Pro Men Quarterfinal – Heat #3
1. Andrew Adkison           USA    94.00
2. Jimmy LaRiche             USA    90.25
4. Shawn Watson              USA    84.25
3. Dean Smith                     AUS    71.50
Pro Men Quarterfinal – Heat #4
1. Bryan Hutton                 USA    90.75
2. Harley Clifford              AUS    88.25
3. Nick Davies                    ENG     84.25
4. Jeff Weatherall               NZL     76.75
Pro Men Quarterfinal – Heat #5
1. Aaron Rathy                  CAN    95.25
2. Chad Sharpe                  CAN    90.75
3. Olivier Derome               CAN    81.75
4. Robby Carter                  USA    72.25