Thirty-six of the world’s top wakeboarders will  descend on Tempe Town Lake on April 3 and 4 to compete in the biggest and  most  innovative  wakeboarding  event ever devised, Red Bull Wake Lab. Created  as  an  experiment  to  see how far the boundaries of the sport of wakeboarding  could be pushed, this groundbreaking event will take place in Tempe in conjunction with the Circle K Tempe Music Festival.  Red Bull Wake Lab  made  its  debut  in Orlando, FL in September 2008, and was an instant success with riders and fans alike. The field of 36 riders represents both
wakeboarding  legends  and  local  up-and-comers  looking to show off their skills and make a name for themselves.

Parks Bonifay, X Games Gold medalist and five-time Pro Tour Champion, hand-selected 30 of the 36 wakeboarders based on their experience, skill and industry reputation.  Twelve of the 36 riders, known as the “invitees,” who include Red Bull pro athletes JD Webb, Adam Errington and Parks Bonifay himself, will automatically advance to the semifinals.  The other 12 “qualifiers” will compete in two rounds of qualifying sessions with only the top four advancing to the semifinals.  The other six selected athletes, the “pre-qualifiers” including Arizona locals Jimmy Wolf and Benjamin Christensen, will compete in a pre-qualifier event to earn a spot in the qualifying round.  The six pre-qualifiers will compete against six “wildcard” competitors, who earned their spots through previous wakeboarding events in Scottsdale, AZ and Sacramento, CA.

Event Schedule:

Friday, April 3rd:
4:30p                   Doors Open to Public
4:30p-6:30p       Pro Wakeboarding Demonstrations

Saturday, April 4th
Noon:                   Doors Open to Public
12:00pm-2:00pm    Quarterfinals Competition
3:00pm-4:00pm     Semifinals Competition
5:30p-6:30p       Final Round Competition
8:15pm:                 Awards Presentation

Athletes participating in Red Bull Wake Lab include:

1. Parks Bonifay
2. Aaron Rathy
3. Oliver Derome
4. JD Webb
5. Keith Lidberg
6. Collin Harrington
7. Shawn Watson
8. Shane Bonifay
9. Chad Sharpe
10. Danny Harf
11. Adam Errington
12. Tom Foshee

1. Gabe Lucas
2. Yannick Tibo
3. Trevor Hansen
4. Robbie Jacques
5. Rusty Malinoski
6. Erik Ruck
7. Philip Soven
8. Mike Ennen
9. Kevin Henshaw
10. Jimmy Lariche
11. Tino Santori
12. Pat Panakos

1. Jimmy Wolf (Ariz.)
2. Benjamin Christensen (Ariz.)
3. Norbert Vasko (Hungary)
4. Mike Schwenne (Fla.)
5. Kyle Rattray (Fla.)
6. Chris Saltski (Fla.)

Scottsdale Qualifier
1. Kaesen Suderhoud (San Diego, Calif.)
2. Larry Taylor (Glendale, Ariz.)
3. Kyle Alberts (Orlando, Fla.)
4. Tyler Killingsworth (Canyon Lake, Calif.)

Sacramento Qualifier
1. Justin Fisher (Cannon Lake, Calif.)
2. Robbie Carter (Chico, Calif.)

A ticket for the 2009 Circle K Tempe Music Festival is required to attend Red Bull Wake Lab. Tickets can be purchased at,, Dodge Theatre Box Office, Tempe Market Place Guest Services or by phone at 1-800-594-TIXX. Advance tickets will be priced at $35.00 and will increase to $45.00 the week of the festival. Special VIP tickets are available for $100 each day. Promotional discounts of up to $5.00 off tickets are also available at local Circle K stores. For complete information go to

For complimentary images post-event, visit A brief video overview of the Red Bull Wake Lab event in Orlando can be found at –

or check out video here at –

or check out our article from the first event here –