Screen shot 2014-03-12 at 7.05.05 AM

1)Name,age,stomping grounds/hometown?
I’m Madi Horta, I’m 19 years old and I live in Riverside, California.

2)Local lake,river,riding spot?
I’m lucky enough to ride Lake Havasu all year long.Its not technically “local” but it’s only a 3 hour drive from my house in Riverside to our lake house. Havasu has been my home lake since I was 5 years old.

3) Who is in your crew?
My crew consists of my entire family and my friends.

4)What got you into wakesurfing or how did this happen?
My cousin, Michael, taught me back in 2011 and I’ve been hooked ever since! I just recently decided to take my riding to the next level and start competing this year. I was lucky enough to meet Jeff Wahlers, of Soulcraft boarding, at the Polar Bear event this past October. He designed my beautiful custom yellow and pink Soulcraft board that my parents had waiting for me under the Christmas tree. I’ve been riding my new board every weekend since the day after Christmas and I’m thrilled to see how my riding is improving so fast.

5)Boat set up or boat you poach?
I ride a 2012 Tige Rz2, filled with almost 3000 lbs of custom sacs.

6) Do you prefer back side or front side wake surfing?
I prefer to ride front side, but I try to mix in some back side riding every surf session.

7)Any new tricks you are working on?
Recently I’ve been working on consistency in my 360s, more height on my airs, and perfecting my bottom turns.

8) Whats your plans in 2014?
2014 is going to be a great year, I plan to compete as much as possible and really make a name for myself in the sport of wakesurfing! My first compeition will be the Supreme Wake Surf Championships in Parker, Az on March 14th and 15th. I’m so excited to travel across the U.S. this summer, competing in a sport I love, and making memories with my family and friends.

9)Does music play a role when you ride or are ya more of like quite on the boat!?
I defintiely love rocking out to my country music in my jeep, but when I’m riding I prefer the quiet so I can really be focused.

10)Are ya more of a tom boy or a girlie girl wakesurfer who rips?
I would say I’m in the middle of the two! I love to curl my hair and get dressed up during the week, but on the weekends its all about throwing my hair in a messy bun and putting on my swimsuit.

11)Where would you like to see womens wakesurfing go, turn or airs?
I think that there is a personal preference between airs and turns, but I just like seeing more women getting involved in the sport.

12)Any shout outs or people you would like to thank?
First, I would like to thank my parents for giving up many weekends to pull me behind the boat for hours, just so I can do what I love. I want to thank Emily Agate for giving me tips to help me make progress in all areas of my riding. Lastly, I would also like to thank Jeff from Soulcraft for making me the board of my dreams!