POLK CITY, Fla. – USA Wakeboard announced today the selection of the 2011 U.S. Wakeboard Team. The eight-member team will compete in the 9th IWWF Wakeboard World Championships, July 13-17, in Milan, Italy. Australia is the defending team champion. The United States won the team gold medal in 2004 and 2005.

Athletes selected to the 2011 U.S. Wakeboard Team were: Andrew Adkison (Auburndale,Fla.), Pro Men; Noah Flegel (Lighthouse Point, Fla.), Boys; Nick Jones (Celebration, Fla.), Pro Men; Paulie Koch (Old Greenwich, Conn.), Boys; Tori Koch (Old Greenwich, Conn.), Junior Women; Raimi Merritt (Lake Worth, Fla.), Pro Women; Daniel Powers (Orlando, Fla.), Junior Men; and Matt Vermillion (Columbus, Ohio), Veteran Men.

USA Wakeboard is one of nine sport disciplines of USA Water Ski, which was formed in 1939 as a non-profit organization promoting water skiing in the United States. USA Water Ski is affiliated with the International Waterski & Wakeboard Federation (world governing body) and is recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and Pan-American Sports Organization as the national governing body of organized water skiing in the United States.