Harley Clifford Wins Men’s Pro at MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour Knoxville, Claims Season Title

Knoxville, TN. – Déjà vu and nervous excitement were prevailing themes throughout the day at the MasterCraft ProWakeboard Tour presented by Rockstar Energy Drink, with the season title once again came down to Phillip Soven and Harley Clifford’s performances in the final event of the year. The sport’s greatest rivalry lived up to the hype, with all-out final-round performances by both riders culminating in a narrow victory by Clifford, clinching another prestigious Pro Wakeboard Tour season championship for the world-class athlete.

The title is the second of Clifford’s young career and solidifies his position as one of the sport’s brightest stars.

“I couldn’t be more stoked to walk away with another Pro Tour championship today,” said Clifford. “The 2012 season has been one of the most competitive ever with so many talented riders on tour. Phil put the pressure on me all season long and I’m just happy to claim the crown.”

Stakes were also high in the Junior Pro Men’s division today with the MasterCraft Junior Pro Wakeboard Tour season title on the line, as well as the Overton’s Junior Pro series title up for grabs. Mike Dowdy put on a pro-worthy performance in the finals to clinch the win in Knoxville as well the seasonlong titles. The victory puts Dowdy in prime position for a leap up to the big leagues in the near future.

The highly-competitive Women’s Pro division also took to the water at Volunteer Landing today and gave the thousands of fans lining the river plenty of reasons to cheer. In a neck-to-neck showdown, Aussie-phenom Hayley Smith edged out fellow countrywoman Amber Wing to claim top honors.

Following the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour divisional heats, fans were treated to the jaw-dropping Sony Big Air Contest and Rockstar Double Up.  Launching off the MasterCraft XStar’s massive wake, the top Men’s Pro athletes stuck gravity-defying tricks that are rarely pulled off in a traditional contest setting. The performances of the event came from Dean Smith who took first place in Big Air by sticking a backside 720 and Phillip Soven who wowed thecrowd with a huge switch nose grab crow mobe to claim victory in the Double Up.

For more information on the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, please visit: KingofWake.com

The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, presented by ROCKSTAR is organized by World Sports & Marketing of Orlando, Fla., and has the support of the following sponsors: MasterCraft, Rockstar Energy Drink, Overton’s, Indmar, Peavey, Billabong, Hyperlite, CWB, Ronix, Liquid Force, Byerly, Oakley, Sayiwon’t, Epiphone and YOUR MOM magazine.

MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour Knoxville Results (Athletes in Bold Advance):

Men’s Pro Finals

1.      Harley Clifford          92.50

2.      Phillip Soven               89.00

3.      Dean Smith                 80.67

4.      Shota Tezuka              71.67

5.      Steel Lafferty              68.50

6.      Tony Carroll                65.83

7.      Andrew Adkison        63.33

8.      Phillip Aslinger           58.33

9.      Rusty Malinoski          40.00

10.  Bradley Smeele           30.00

Women’s Pro Finals

1.      Hayley Smith             70.00

2.      Amber Wing               66.00

3.      Taylor McCullough     60.00

4.      Mellissa Marquardt     53.33

5.      Raimi Merritt              46.67

6.      Meagan Ethell             35.00

Junior Pro Men Finals

1.      Mike Dowdy              85.75 (Tie broken by most first place finishes)

2.      Noah Flegel                 85.75

3.      Tony Iacconi               76.50

4.      Massi Piffaretti           74.00

5.      Freddie Wayne           70.00

6.      Parker Siegele             58.00

Junior Pro Men Semis Heat 2

1.      Massi Piffaretti           90.50

2.      Freddie Wayne           87.75

3.      Mike Dowdy               86.25

4.      Christian Primrose       73.50

5.      Kennan Allen              48.50

Junior Pro Men Semis Heat 1

1.      Noah Flegel                 96.50

2.      Tony Iacconi               82.00

3.      Parker Siegele            76.50

4.      Jacob Valdez               74.25

5.      Gordon Harrison         70.75

Women’s Pro Semifinals Heat 2

1.      Amber Wing              65.00

2.      Mellissa Marquardt  56.67

3.      Meagan Ethell           50.00

4.      Miku Asai                   45.00

5.      Corrie Dyer                 35.00

Women’s Pro Semifinals Heat 1

1.      Raimi Merritt            63.33

2.      Hayley Smith             60.00

3.      Taylor McCullough  51.67

4.      Nicola Butler               47.33

5.      Tarah Mikacich           40.00

Men’s Pro Quarterfinals Heat 5

1.      Harley Clifford          80.00

2.      Shota Tezuka             71.67

3.      Jimmy Lariche            61.67

4.      Kyle Rattray               50.00

Men’s Pro Quarterfinals Heat 4

1.      Phillip Soven              80.00

2.      Bradley Smeele          71.67

3.      JD Webb                     66.67

4.      Joey Bradley               56.67

5.      Daniel Powers             46.67

Men’s Pro Quarterfinals Heat 3

1.      Andrew Adkison       73.33

2.      Rusty Malinoski        68.33

3.      Austin Hair                 60.00

4.      Josh Palma                  50.00

5.      AJ Racinelli                 40.00

Men’s Pro Quarterfinals Heat 2

1.      Steel Lafferty             81.67

2.      Dean Smith                75.00

3.      Danny Thollander       60.00

4.      Zane Schwenk            48.33

5.      Chad Sharpe               38.33

Men’s Pro Quarterfinals Heat 1

1.      Tony Carroll              75.00

2.      Phillip Aslinger          61.67

3.      Oliver Derome            51.67

4.      Adam Errington          40.00

5.      Aaron Rathy               31.67

6.      Kirby Liesmann          23.33