Phillip Soven Claims Pro Men Wakeboard Title at

First-Ever Tigé MyWake Global Challenge

Winners Also Decided in Wakeskate, Wakesurf and Skim Divisions

Orlando, Fla. — Culminating a three month long call-to-action that collected online video submissions from the world’s best wakeboarders, wakeskaters and wakesurfers, champions were determined in all eight divisions during day two of the live finals at the inaugural Tigé MyWake Global Challenge. The first-ever contest incorporating the three wake disciplines, Phillip Soven used a stylish and technically-sound final run to clinch top honors in the competition’s premiere division, Pro Men Wakeboard.

After taking first place in yesterday’s opening round during his first-ever Men’s Pro competition, Mike Dowdy entered the day with an anxious contingent of fellow pros and wakeboard fans eager to see if the newcomer could back up his day one performance with an equally strong final run. However, his two day total was not enough to overcome an impressive second day showing from veteran pro Soven, who added another title to his collection of pro contest victories. Rusty Malinoski and Tony Carroll also put in excellent runs today to round out the Pro Men’s podium.

“This was a great event and I’m most stoked to see Tony (Carroll) make the podium, he has been riding really well for a long time now,” said Soven. “This wraps a solid 2012 season and will see you all next year.”

A stacked field of Pro Women wakeboarders also determined a winner on Lake Bryan today. Displaying next-level progressive riding, the division was claimed by Raequel Hoffman, who used acollection of big airs, stylish rotations and technical grabs to narrowly edge out Amber Wing and  Raimi Merritt, who claimed second and third place respectively.

In the ultra-innovative Pro Men Surf division, Chase Hazen placed first for the second consecutive day to take the overall victory in the up-and-coming sport. Also showcasing world-class riding throughout the event were Jacob Valdez (Junior Pro Men Wakeboard), Brian Grubb (Pro Men Wakeskate), Ashley Kidd (Pro Women Surf), Bri Chmel (Pro Women Skim) and Keenen Flegel (Pro Men Skim), who all claimed overall victories in their respective divisions.

Recognizing the game-changing format of the MyWake Global Challenge, PCM Engines upped the ante of the contest and doubled all Tigé prize money for the monthly winners. With the matched money from PCM Engines, overall prizes for the online and live portions of the contest are more than $35,000.

Final Scores From the Tigé MyWake Global Challenge

*Highest two-day average wins, ties broken by highest day two score

Pro Wakeskate Overall Average

1. Brian Grubb            90

2. James Balzer           90

3. Brandon Thomas     88.5

4. George Daniels       77.5

5. Dieter Humpsch      70


Pro Women Overall Average

1. Raequel Hoffman       95

2. Amber Wing               95

3. Raimi Merritt              77.5

4. Melissa Marquardt     75

5. Tarah Mikacich          65


Womens Skim Overall Average

1. Bri Chmel                  100

2. Caroline Villeneuve   90

3. Vanessa Gonzalez      80

4. Jackie Costa                80


Mens Skim Overall Average

1. Keenen Flegel          90

2. Noah Flegel              90

3. Dominique Lagace   90


Women’s Surf  Overall Average

1. Ashley Kidd            100

2. Korina Smyrek         90

3. Raequel Hoffman     80

4.      Maddie Garcia       75

Men’s Surf Overall Average

1. Chase Hazen            100

2. Chris Kinsey            90

3. RJ Garcia                 80


Junior Pro Men Overall Average

1. Jacob Valdez           95

2. Noah Flegel             88.5

3. Keenan Allen          85

4. Jason Soven            77.5

5. Gus Shuler              70


Pro Men Overall Average

1.  Phillip Soven         85

2. Rusty Malinoski     82.5

3. Tony Carroll           77.5

4. Aaron Rathy           77.5

5. Mike Dowdy           71.5

6. Steel Lafferty          67.5

7. Daniel Powers         67.5

8. Austin Hair             65

9. Josh Palma              49

10. Kyle Rattray          49

11. Daniel Watkins     49

12. Scotty Broome      39