Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 9.38.54 AM


Red Bull Wake of Steel | 20-21 May 2016 – Port of Linz

For the fourth time, the international wakeboard elite are to come to the Port of Linz to see who is the best of the best – in one of the most extraordinary events on the circuit. The Red Bull Wake of Steel is returning after a year off to Austria’s steel city. It promises to be a comeback to remember with a new schedule and 18 of the world’s best wakeboarders. For the first time in the history of the Red Bull Wake of Steel, there is also to be a night session. Local hero Dominik Hernler will be there again, having missed the last edition due to injury. He is to aim to get his hands on the title once again after his success in 2013.

The Red Bull Wake of Steel, which marks the focal point of the LINZ AG Bubble Days, has become a real highlight of the wakeboarding scene. Riders across the world battle to get a coveted invitation to Linz. What makes this event so special is its extraordinary feature of a huge cargo ship. The guys at Shape diligently work away year after year on the old boat to make it even more spectacular and entertaining for spectators and riders. A 150 square- metre pool is found on the ship that can be accessed via two ramps of 28 metres in length. Leading out of the pool are two kickers, a 20-metre pipe, a powerful A-Frame plus a 12m steel rail. A mobile Loric dual-mast cable system offers the riders countless chances to pull off various tricks. On the 21 May, it’ll be time again for the Port of Linz to become the place to be for 18 of the best wakeboarders, who have been handpicked to be invited to take part in this exclusive contest.

Back taking part this year is local hero, and 2013 winner, Dominik Hernler. The Austrian, who had to sit out the chance to defend his title the following year with an injury, is fully fit and more motivated than ever. After a 10-month break, Hernler made a great comeback in 2015. In a seemingly perfect season, he won every major obstacle event. The honour for Union Rider of the Year was the crowning glory of his year of success. Understandably, he has his eyes on the Red Bull Wake of Steel title again this year.

Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 9.39.21 AM

Also travelling to Linz just as well prepared is Daniel Grant of Thailand. Grant has developed from being a wonderkid to fulfil his promise as one of the most successful wakeboarders in the world. He was able to win at the Port of Linz in 2012 and 2014, and will start as one of the leading contenders this time around too. Due to the incredible field of talent at the top of the wakeboarding scene, the starting field has been increased to 18. Along with German stars like Dominik Gührs and Nico von Lerchenfeld, Canada’s Raph Derome and the US’s Julien Cohen are to start again. Competing for the first time are newly crowned European Champion Guy Firer of Israel, Australian World Champion Aaron Gunn plus shooting stars Victor Salmon (of Belgium) and Pedro Caldas (of Brazil).

There is a great sense of anticipation in Austria ahead of the appearance of Timo Kapl. The Upper Austrian achieved his greatest success so far last year when becoming Vice European Champion, and would love to create another sensation at the Red Bull Wake of Steel.

There is to be a special first on Friday evening after the concerts of the Linz AG Bubble Days. For the first time in the history of the Red Bull Wake of Steel, a night session will be held. The riders have the opportunity from 11 at night to navigate the converted cargo ship while showing their creative tricks in unique light conditions – and to entertain the spectators with spectacular scenes. The best trick is to be honoured with a separate award.

Friday 20 May 2016
Daytime Training Red Bull Wake of Steel
14:00 Doors open
23:00 Night session

Saturday 21 May 2016
15:00 Red Bull Wake of Steel qualifying
17:00 Red Bull Wake of Steel semi-finals and final

Daniel Grant (THAI), Nico Von Lerchenfeld (GER), Julian Cohen (USA), Antoine Allaux (FRA), Dominik Hernler (AUT), Timo Kapl (AUT), Felix Georgii (GER), Szebasztian Szolath (HUN), Massimo Piffaretti (ITA), Ben Leclair (CAN), Austin Pratt (USA), Raph Derome (CAN), James Windsor (AUS), Dominik Gührs (GER), Guy Firer (ISR), Victor Salmon (BEL), Aaron Gunn (AUS), Pedro Caldas (BRA)

You can find further information on


Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 9.38.28 AM