Aug 7, 2010, Collingwood, ON, Canada – Sunny, warm summer weather, the world’s best pro wakeboarders and wakeskaters, pro skateboarders, bikinis AND the opportunity to see Public Enemy and Alexisonfire all in the same day attracted thousands to Collingwood’s Millennium Park for an amazing kick-off Wakestock 2010 WWA World Series pro contest, presented by Monster Energy!

Thousands lined the shoreline and crammed the bleachers to catch the best  riders throw down in the pro qualification heats for this fourth and largest stop of the WWA World Series. The pros took full advantage of the perfect calm water conditions.

First off the dock was the Malibu Boats Pro Wakekate Championship pulled behind the new 2011 Malibu Wakesetter in it’s world debut! It was the defending and 5 time Wakestock champion, Brian Grubb of the USA posting the highest score of the day. It was a good day for the Canadians as well with James Balzer winning his heat. Yan Lecomte and Dan Brown also advanced to the semi-finals as did Americans Stuart Shinn and Grant Roberts.

Up next was the Billabong Pro Wakeboard Championships and it was the Derome brothers leading the way for the Canadians. “I’m super stoked on winning my heat,” commented Olivier Derome. “ I got to get a good feel for the course, so I’m ready for the big day tomorrow. Making it even better is having, my bro [Raphael] take his own heat as well. It was a great day, for sure.” Other Canadians advancing include heat winner Kyle Rattray and Dustin O’Ferrall. 

The defending champion, Aaron Rathy also advanced to the next round despite battling a season-long knee injury. Three-time past Wakestock champ, Phil Soven was last off the dock and posted the highest score of the day. Other heat winners included Thailand’s Padiwat Jaemjam and Americans Shane Bonifay, Bob Soven, and Trevor Hansen who currently sits in 2nd place in the WWA World Series behind Phil Soven.

While the wake pros ran through their qualification heats in perfect calm water conditions in front of huge shoreline crowds, the band line-up ramped up on the Monster Energy music stage with incredible performances from USS f Maestro Fresh Wes and Crash Kings. Then, following a packed pro skate demo at the Wakestock skatepark by Paul Machnau, Grant Patterson, Paul Trep and the rest of the new Red Star skate team, Alexisonfire took the stage in front of the biggest crowds of the afternoon! They delivered an absolutely insane live performance bringing the crowds to a fever pitch!

Introduced by Maestro Fresh-Wes, hip-hop legends Public Enemy shut the day down with an energetic performance as the sun set. Chuck D and Flavor Flav ran the stage with the enthusiasm of men half their age, delivering nothing but classic anthems from the Long Island crew’s highly regarded Fear of a Black Planet and It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back albums. At one point Flav even cranked out a drum solo. After wrapping up their hour-plus set with the rousing “Fight the Power,” Chuck left the stage proclaiming, “Long live Wakestock!

What a finale to what is sure to be remembered as one of the best days in Wakestock’s amazing 13 year history!

The Wakestock World Series semi-finals and finals for the Malibu Boats Pro Wakeskate Championships run Sunday morning followed by the final rounds of the Billabong Pro Wakeboard Championships. Be sure to tune into Twitter for live updates throughout the day. See full qualification results below.

(Top 2 Advance to Semi-Finals)

Presented by Monster Energy & Malibu Boats
Heat 1
1. Padiwat Jaemjam THAI    62.00
2. Scotty Broome    AUS    51.67
3. Robbie McMillin    CAN    41.67
4. Dylan Miller    CAN    30.00

Heat 2
1. Kyle Rattray    CAN    73.33
2. Nick Jones    USA    65.00
3. Christian Primrose CAN    56.67
4. Terry Bailey    USA    36.67

Heat 3
1. Robert Soven    USA    76.67
2. Andrew Adkison    USA    63.33
3. Jason Bannatyne    CAN    50.00

Heat 4
1. Olivier Derome    CAN    73.33
2. Aaron Rathy    CAN    63.33
3. Mike Maynard    CAN    50.00

Heat 5
1. Raphael Derome CAN    70.00
2. Danny Thollander USA    60.00
3. Dary Znebel    CAN    46.67

Heat 6
1. Shane Bonifay    USA    73.33
2. Austin Hair    USA    60.00
3. Gavin Hicks    CAN    50.00

Heat 7
1. Trevor Hansen    USA    80.00
2. Dustin O’Ferrall    CAN    60.00
3. Kevin Henshaw    CAN    50.00

Heat 8
1. Phillip Soven    USA    83.33
2. Shawn Watson    USA    70.00
3. Dylan Rivait    CAN    46.67

Presented by Monster Energy & Billabong
Heat 1
1. Grant Roberts    USA    83.33
2. Dan Brown    CAN    63.33
3. Adison Farr    CAN    40.00
4. Kevin Calvez    FRA    DNS

Heat 2
1. James Balzer    CAN    76.67
2. Stuart Shinn    USA    63.33
3. Adam Lewis    CAN    26.67
4. Quentin Dubrac    FRA    10.00

Heat 3
1. Brian Grubb    USA    85.00
2. Yan Lecomte    CAN    73.33
3. Scotty Boysen    CAN    50.00
4. Chris Hau        CAN    40.00

Wakestock is presented by Monster Energy in association with Coors Light, Billabong, Malibu Boats in partnership with Xcel, Virgin Mobile, Blackberry, Schick, Gordon Bay Marine, Town & Country Marine, 102.1 the Edge, Dose.ca, SBC Skateboard Magazine and SBC Wakeboard Magazine. And supported by Ronix, O’Brien, Liquid Force, CWB, Hyperlite, Slingshot, Roswell and Kicker Audio.

Wakestock™ is owned and produced by SBC Events Inc, an independent Canadian production company specializing in action sport & youth lifestyle marketing, in association with SBC Media Inc., publisher of Canada’s leading action sports magazines and websites. “Wakestock™”, “Wakestock World Series™”, “Wakestock Festival™” and “Wakestock Action Sports & Music Festival™” are trademarks of SBC Media Inc. in Canada, the United States and/or other countries.