Shane Bonifay – Dangerous in Dallas

DALLAS, TX (February 14, 2008) – The third annual Boardshorts, Bulls and Bikini’s pro wakeboard event took place at the legendary Gilley’s honky-tonk in Dallas, Texas last Friday night and Shane “Danger” Bonifay came out on top…TWICE!

It was stop #1 of the 2008 Texas Wakeboard Tour, presented by Malibu Boats, and a talented line-up of top local and pro riders where in attendance. Dano “The Mano” and his Texas sidekick Justin Kiefer called the action which started at 9pm with a parking lot rail jam. Fourteen wakeboarders and four skaters braved the chilly temperatures for a piece of the $3000 cash purse and one of two custom silver belt buckles. The boarders were split into two heats of seven with the top three in each heat advancing to the finals. Riders each took three pulls and were judged on best trick. LF pro Shane Bonifay, Gator rookie AJ Racinelli and CWB’s Andrew Dyrhood advanced from heat #1. Top local LF rider Brian Sasser joined Malibu pro Chad Sharpe and Team Hyperlites, Rusty Malinoski in the finals from heat #2.


Before the wakeboard finals, four skaters went head-to-head in their own best trick showdown. Malibu pro Brian Grubb made the podium with a front side 180 after attempting, and almost landing a FS Big Spin. Texas native, Bret Little, rode smooth all night and ended up in second place with his own stylish version of a Front Board 90 shuv out. And it was another Texan, Clint Tompkins, who stoked the crowd and took the wakeskate win when he stuck a kick-flip off the 30 foot incline box. The fourth wakeskater competing was Liquid Force pro, Stef Tor, who had a rough night and ended up getting worked on her fourth and final hit. Stef fractured her leg when she went down between the rails, but she is doing well and resting back home in Orlando.

The wakeboard finals started at around 10:30pm and everyone was attacking the rails. Each rider got two attempts to show the judges why they deserved the win. Chad Sharpes consistent riding landed him in third place overall. The “Bone-Crusher” muscled through a 540 for second place and it was Shane Bonifay, representing Liquid Force wakeboards, who nose-pressed his way to a victory like only he can! Shane pocketed $1000 cash and the first of two custom silver belt buckles up for grabs for his efforts.

After the rail jam, the top wake and skate finalists headed over the bull-riding arena. With a second custom silver belt buckle on the line, Clint Tompkins, Bret Little, Brian Grubb, Shane Bonifay, Rusty Malinoski and 2006 bull-riding champ, Chad Sharpe, each had a shot at taming the mechanical beast. The bull “operator” was showing no mercy, but almost everyone beat the 8 second standard. However, it was Bonifay who held on for 19.6 seconds to win the contest and snag his second silver buckle of the evening!

The rail jamming and bull-riding only made up half of the activities at this unique, annual wake party. At 11:30pm, everyone headed inside the Loft Bar at Gilley’s for the Bikini Contest followed by a live show from Austin reggae/rock sensations, Eleven Fingered Charlie. It was a packed house and a great way to wrap up an action packed evening.

In addition to Malibu Boats, Boardshorts, Bulls and Bikini’s was made possible with support from Monster Energy Drink, Liquid Force Wakeboards, Woly Board Company, Gator Boards, Spy Optic, CWB Wakeboards, Straight Line Ropes and Handles, Hyperlite Wakeboards, H2O Clothing, TBKS, and local Malibu dealer – Waterski America. Media partners included Live 105.3 FM, the Dallas Observer, Alliance Wakeboard Magazine,, and Wakeboarding Magazine.

Additional pictures of the evening’s activities can be viewed at the following sites:   

Round-by-Round Results


Wakeboard Heat #1                            Wakeboard Heat #2

(Top 3 Advanced to Finals)                        (Top 3 Advance to Finals)

Shane Bonifay                                                 Chad Sharpe

AJ Racinelli                                                             Rusty Malinoski

Andrew Dyrhood                                                 Brian Sasser

Joe Lemberg                                                            Hank Carter

Billy Garcia                                                            Josh Wright

Tom Fooshee                                                Lucas Snyder

Rusty Scott                                                            Earl Ball



Wakeboard Finals

Shane Bonifay – 1st Place / $1000

Rusty Malinoski – 2nd Place / $500

Chad Sharpe – 3rd Place / $250

AJ Racinelli

Brian Sasser

Andrew Dyrhood




Clint Tompkins – 1st Place / $500

Bret Little – 2nd Place / $300

Brian Grubb – 3rd Place / $200

Stef Tor (DNF)



Shane Bonifay – 1st Place – 19.6 seconds

Bret Little – 17.7 seconds

Rusty Malinoski – 16.1 seconds

Chad Sharpe – 10.2 seconds

Brian Grubb – 10 seconds

Clint Tompkins – 7 seconds