The 2010 Collegiate Team of the year is….The University of Louisiana Monroe Warhawks!

Started in February of 2009 by Nick McDonald, the club is just beginning. However, in those 2 short years, the club has become extremely organized and active.  The group is tight and spend a lot of time together on and off the water.

“It was kind of a funny way to get started,” said Nick the current ULM Wake President. “I got pressure from former Presidents Adam Silcio of LSU and Ory Comeaux of Louisiana Lafayette. “

It isn’t an easy task to run the wakeboard club at ULM. The Warhawk ski team is the proud owner of 24 national ski championships and have their own private course on campus.

The club has used persistence and hard work to host the first wakeboard event in 2010 on that lake. This was also the first collegiate wakeboard event to be hosted on a college campus.  It was an honor for that event to be the 3rd stop on the Collegiate Wake Series.

In its second year of competition the ULM Wakeboard team has landed them 13th in the country.  They have been working hard fundraising for their trip to Long Beach California where Empire Wake’s Collegiate Wake Series Championships will be held. They have come up with some ideas that will be used with other teams to help raise funds. However, with this honor of being team of the year, the University of Louisiana Monroe Wake Club will be riding for free!

The club gets outside support from Swamp Sports Watersports, B&L Marine, The Townsend Family, The Birch Family and of course the ULM sports club staff.