The Protest Pro-Am hosted the first stop of the WWA Wake Park World Series and the Orangina Wake Jam in Toulouse, France

May 12th, 2008

The first stop of the WWA Wake Park World Series kicked off last weekend at the Protest Pro-Am in Toulouse, France. Sam Collins of Australia took the 1st place title in the Pro Men Division, while Denise De Haan from Holland won the Pro Womens Division and local shredder Leo Labadens brought home the Pro Wakeskate title. The weekend’s festivities also included the Orangina Wake Jam, the Unleashed Guitar Hero III Contest, and live band performances and parties each night. The competition throughout the weekend got progressively more difficult for the riders and finished with super tight final runs on Saturday afternoon.

The Pro Men’s division allowed for the top riders in the world to compete head-to-head against each other with the final two riders, Mike Ketellapper and Sam Collins laying down two of the most difficult, well balanced, and technical runs of the weekend. Sam threw a toeside melon 720 off the kicker and a switch 270 to front board, to frontside 270 gap over the fun box. Ketellapper’s crow mobe on the inside of the cable, and massive frontside 540 of the kicker were a couple of the highlights in his run. The four man final in the wakeskate division lead Leo Labedens easily in first place with his 3 shuv, backside bigspin and a switch ollie 360 line. Denise de Haan took home the Pro Women’s division in the final with her vulcan, raley, and boardslide to fakie on the A-Frame.

Men’s Professional Results
1. Sam Collins
2. Mike Ketellapper
3. Tom Fooshee
4. Bernhard Hinterberger
5. Donald Shelbrick, Will Manns, Tom Richter, Laurent Peyrichou
Women’s Professional Results
1. Denise De Haan – HOL – 60.00
2. Maxine Sapulette – HOL – 40.00
3. Kinga Horvath – HUN – 35.00
4. Mayanka Jansen – HOL – 28.33
WakeSkate Professional Results
1. Leo Labadens – FRA – 73.33
2. Enrik Dosta – ES – 51.67
3. Chase Gregory – USA – 28.33
4. Luis Montana – ES – 28.33

1. Christian Koester
2. Tom Fooshee
3. Marvin Kalter
1. Chase Gregory
2. Tounise Sanchez
3. Luis Montana
A special thanks goes to Raynald Tanny and Philippe Sirech at Unleashed Magazine for organizing the event, as well as all the riders and spectators that attended.

The next stop of the WWA Wake Park World Series will go down in the province of Camarines Sur in the Philippines during the 2008 WWA Wake Park World Championships from July 2nd – 6th. Stay tuned to for more details.