Screen Shot 2015-05-01 at 2.34.44 PM

Screen Shot 2015-05-01 at 2.33.58 PM

It took Morgan Burchell 4 years to build her National Champion Texas A&M Aggie’s Wakeboard program. In her senior year and final semester, she pulled off a weekend this team will never forget.

The Texas A&M Aggies are your 2014-15 College Wakeboard Champions!

This team of Ryan Wolf, Reid Thompkins, Ashton Drenner, Daniel Roop, Jordyn Halbert, Hayden McEntire, Kyle Aubuchon, and John Volleman had taken an unorganized team that was on the verge of collapse years ago and focused, practiced, competed, and even threw their own events to get to the top. It took a strong leader and a full team to become the champs.

Not only was this team national champs, but also won the College Wakeboard Team of the year award the night before. This award shows leadership, dedication, exemplary behavior, and teamwork. These 8 riders, their President and the rest of the A&M team showed these qualities all year. It was a perfect prelude to what the following day would bring.

It wasn’t easy for the 3rd seated Aggies. They took the toughest road to the finals. They beat a good Sacramento State team, and followed that up by taking down the team most everyone thought would win it all this year, Rollins College. Lastly, The finals were against 2 time defending champs Arizona State Wakedevils. This was a finals that came down to every rider earning as many points as they could for their club total. The results in the end could have changed the winner by just 1 or 2 riders moving up for ASU or down for A&M.

Congratulations to Texas A&M for a huge win at Lake Las Vegas and to earning College Team of the year!

Special thanks to: Boulder Boats, Red Bull, Rockwell Watches, Jet Pilot,, Elevated Clothing, STZ Clothing, Ossur Corp, Medicine in Motion, Neff Headwear, Lake Las Vegas, Montelago Village Association, and the Hilton Lake Las Vegas.

Final Team Rankings:

1. Texas A&M
2. Arizona State
3. Baylor Wake
4. Rollins College
5. Chico State
6. Sac State
7.Western Washington
8. Wake Forest
9. University of Florida
10. Georgia

Screen Shot 2015-05-01 at 2.34.28 PM

Screen Shot 2015-05-01 at 2.33.46 PM